Ellen M. Lerner
1 min readDec 9, 2021

What is An Old Excuse You Gave Yourself That You No Longer Have?

‘But that’s not fair!’

If I recall, I once said this quite frequently….I no longer do.

Life is not fair. That is not to say that life isn’t beautiful. We have bad moments, beautiful moments, and moments of clarity. I remembered something my Father told me when I was a little girl…

I do not remember what I was so bent out of shape about, but he sat me down and tried to explain to me that ‘life is not fair.’

I did not understand…

Perhaps I didn’t want to understand, or maybe I was simply too young. It took me quite a bit of time to come to terms with this.

No. Life is not fair but if we are wise, we focus on the beauty. That is not to say we forget an injustice or something that broke your heart, but life has a way of balancing itself out…if you really are paying attention.

Ellen M. Lerner

My name is Ellen. I am a Composer. A Pianist and Vocalist. A Student. A Writer and most of all...I'm a Survivor.